IELTS Results, Scoring, And Validity

IELTS Results, Scoring, And Validity

Knowing what IELTS is means knowing that it is not a pass or miss test. When you present it, you can place yourself in one of its scoring levels (0 to 9). Keep in mind that this score is obtained for each skill and globally also that you can get a score per entire strip (7.0) or for half strip (7.5) or you can also look for where to tutor for SAT (ติว sat ที่ไหน ดี which is the term in Thai).

What Does Each IELTS Scale Mean?

We have already explained the IELTS score levels, but you need to know what each one means:

  • 0: no evaluation. You didn’t answer any questions.
  • 1: no user. You only know a few words of English.
  • 2: intermittent user. You know some expressions of English, but your knowledge is fundamental.
  • 3: minimal user. You may have notions of English, but you cannot respond or maintain a fluent conversation.
  • 4: limited user. You know the language a little better, but your vocabulary and grammar are limited. Also, you still have a hard time having a conversation.
  • 5: modest user. You better understand different contexts of the language, but you make a lot of mistakes.
  • 6: competent user. You have effective control of the language, but you keep making mistakes. You risk using more complex vocabulary from time to time.
  • 7: good user. You have operational control of English; you include complex vocabulary more frequently, and the use of the language is more fluent. However, you occasionally make mistakes.
  • 8: excellent user. You have complete control of the language, the mistakes you make only happen in extraordinary contexts.
  • 9: expert user. You handle English fluently and accurately. Your level of understanding is high, so don’t make mistakes.

This can also apply in GED.

Skye Marshall

Ivy Skye Marshall: Ivy, a social justice reporter, covers human rights issues, social movements, and stories of community resilience.